To receive a new writer's quotation as they are posted, click on the photograph and you will be taken to my It's All About the Words facebook page and click "Like."

To learn more about the writer, the name of the writer is linked to to the writer's website, full biography or, occasionally, the best article I could locate online.

In the event I have more than one great option, I usually decide not to choose between them.

Here's looking at you, PJ

Posted by PJBraley on March 31, 2018


John William Jakes (aka Jay Scotland), American writer.

Vincent Willem van Gogh, Dutch Post-Impressionist painter and writer.

Ernst Jünger, German writer.

Jorge Mario Pedro Vargas Llosa, 1st Marquis of Vargas Llosa, Peruvian writer, journalist, and recipient of the 2010 Nobel Prize in Literature, and the Miguel de Cervantes Prize.

Taylor McDowell Mali, American poet.

Russell Banks, American writer and poet.

Quentin Jerome Tarantino, American screenwriter.

Thomas Lanier "Tennessee" Williams III,  American playwright, writer, and poet. Recipient of the Pulitzer Prize for Drama 1948 and 1955.

Mary Flannery O'Connor, American writer. Recipient of the National Book Award for Fiction.

Peter Bichsel, Swiss-German writer and journalist.

Steven Saylor,  American writer.

Christopher Burnside, American writer and screenwriter.

Margaret Mahy, ONZ , award-winning writer from New Zealand.

Lois Lowry, award-winning American writer, including two Newbery Medals 1990 & 1994.

Philip Milton Roth, award-winning American novelist, including the Pulitzer Prize for fiction (1997); two U.S. National Book Award for Fiction 1960 and 1995; and the National Humanities Medal (2010).

John Hoyer Updike,  American  writer and poet. Recipient of the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction 1982, 1991.

Dame Penelope Margaret Lively, DBE, FRSL, British writer. Recipient of Man Booker Prize and the Carnegie Medal.

William Ford Gibson , American-Canadian write of speculative fiction and cyberpunk.

Jorge Ramos Ávalos, Mexican-American journalist and writer. Recipient of eight Emmy Awards and the Maria Moors Cabot Prize for excellence in journalism

René Daumal, French spiritual para-surrealist writer and poet.

Ben Okri, OBE, FRSL, Nigerian poet and novelist. Recipient of the Man Booker Prize (1991).

Albert Horton Foote, Jr., American playwright and screenwriter. Academy award screenplay recipient for To Kill a Mockingbird (1962) and Tender Mercies (1983); Pulitzer Prize for Drama (1995); and, an Emmy (1997).

Albert Einstein, German-born theoretical physicist and writer. Recipient of the Nobel Prize in Physics (1921).

Janet Flanner  (aka “Genêt “), award-winning American writer and Paris correspondent of The New Yorker during WWII.

Mahmoud Darwish, award-winning Palestinian poet and author.

Carl Hiaasen, American writer and journalist.

Donald James “D.J.” MacHale, American writer.

Robert Bernard Greene, Jr., American journalist and writer.

Frank Morrison aka “Mickey” Spillane, American writer. Creator of detective character, Mike Hammer.

Lester Don Holt, Jr., American journalist.

Robert Dennis Harris, English writer and journalist.

Gabriel José de la Concordia García Márquez, Colombian writer, screenwriter, and journalist.

Leslie Marmon Silko, Laguna Pueblo (Native American) writer.

Khaled Hosseini, Afghan-born American writer.

Patricia MacLachlan, American writer. Recipient of the Newbery Medal 1986.

Theodor "Dr. Seuss" Geisel, American writer and cartoonist.

Robert L. Hass, American poet. Poet Laureate of the United States from 1995 to 1997. Recipient of the 2007 National Book Award and 2008 Pulitzer Prize (shared).

Ralph Waldo Ellison, American writer. Recipient of the 1953 National Book Award.